+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    mtgnewbie is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    108

    Default 1+/1+ counter rules

    what are the rules for +1/+1 counters

  2. #2
    Twanos's Avatar
    Twanos is offline Master Mason
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    649

    Default Re: 1+/1+ counter rules

    120 - Counters
    120.1 - A counter is a marker placed on an object or player that modifies its characteristics and/or interacts with a rule, ability, or effect. Counters are not objects and have no characteristics. Notably, a counter is not a token, and a token is not a counter. Counters with the same name or description are interchangeable. [CompRules 2009/07/08]
    120.1a - A +X/+Y counter on a permanent, where X and Y are numbers, adds X to that permanent's power and Y to that permanent's toughness. Similarly, -X/-Y counters subtract from power and toughness. See Rule 612.3. [CompRules 2009/07/08]
    120.1b - The number of loyalty counters on a planeswalker on the battlefield indicates how much loyalty it has. A planeswalker with 0 loyalty is put into its owner's graveyard as a state-based action. See Rule 704. [CompRules 2009/07/08]
    120.1c - If a player has ten or more poison counters, he or she loses the game as a state-based action. See Rule 704. [CompRules 2009/07/08]
    120.2 - If a permanent has both a +1/+1 counter and a -1/-1 counter on it, N +1/+1 and N -1/-1 counters are removed from it as a state-based action, where N is the smaller of the number of +1/+1 and -1/-1 counters on it. See Rule 704. [CompRules 2009/07/08]
    120.3 - If an effect says to "move" a counter, it means to take that counter from the object it's currently on and put it onto a second object. If the first and second objects are the same object, nothing happens. If the first object has no counters, nothing happens; the second object doesn't get a counter put on it. If the second object (or any possible second objects) are no longer in the correct zone when the effect would move the counter, nothing happens; a counter isn't removed from the first object. [CompRules 2009/07/08]
    120.4 - If a spell or ability refers to a counter being "placed" on a permanent, it means putting a counter on that permanent while it's on the battlefield, or that permanent entering the battlefield with a counter on it. [CompRules 2009/07/08]

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. counter rules
    By Guest 1244 in forum Guests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-03-2010, 10:08 PM
  2. counter rules, mtg
    By Guest 1563 in forum Guests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-17-2010, 06:29 PM
  3. +1/+1 counter rules
    By Guest 1030 in forum Guests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-16-2010, 09:22 PM
  4. a counter that counter itselfs magic rules
    By Smash in forum Magic: The Gathering (MTG)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-25-2009, 05:35 PM
  5. mtg rules on counter
    By mtgnewbie in forum Magic: The Gathering (MTG)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-21-2009, 09:50 PM




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:25 AM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.