+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By gabecvsfn

Thread: building a black-red deck

gabecvsfn is offline Common

Default building a black-red deck

hi this is my first post to this forum and im new to magic
    iv been playing about a month and i really like black and red cards. heres my deck so far:
    black monsters:
    1X Giant Scorpion
    2X Blood Seeker
    1X Gatekeeper of Malakir
    1X Vampire Nocturnus
    1X Pestilence Demon
    1X Pulse Tracker
    1X Vampire Nighthawk
    1X Viscera Dragger

other black spells:
    1X tendrils of corruption
    1X feast of blood
    2X blood tithe
    1X hideous end
    2X siphon soul
    3X doom blade

red creatures:
    2X cosi's ravager
    1X tephraderm
    1X capricious efreet
    1X thorn thrash viashino
    1X grotag thrasher
    1X manic vandal
    1X fire elemental
    1X viashino sandstalker

other red spells:
    1X volcanic strength
    3X lightning bolt
    3X searing blaze
    1X retribution
    1X shiv's embrace
    1X shatter
    1X magma spray

mana:
    2X bojuka bog
    2X smoldering spires
    1X drowned catacomb

9X swamp
    9X mountain

i realize this might not be very impressive. but im trying to do the best i can with what i have. any info on what cards i should get rid of or add, or advice on building a deck in general would be great! thanks

Mountain is offline Uncommon

Default Re: building a black-red deck

I'd suggest removing:

1X shatter
    1X magma spray

and instead adding to:

4X lightning bolt
    4X searing blaze

yeah, i guess i can remove shatter and magma spray
    the only thing is that my friend has this annoying sliver deck, with an argentum armor so magma spray gets rid of his regenerate sliver since its only 1/1, and shatter kills argentum armor. but i guess i should get rid of those. i dont have another lightning bolt tho, so wat else?