+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Kenji

Thread: does tapping a creature with an ability work as an instant on the stack?

  1. #1
    battlefield is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    86

    Default does tapping a creature with an ability work as an instant on the stack?

    does tapping a creature with an ability work same as an instant on the stack?

  2. #2
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: does tapping a creature with an ability work as an instant on the stack?

    ...what?
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  3. #3
    battlefield is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    86

    Default Re: does tapping a creature with an ability work as an instant on the stack?

    is creature ability an instant?

  4. #4
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: does tapping a creature with an ability work as an instant on the stack?

    Not at all. A creature ability is a creature ability, not an Instant.

    Something is only an instant on the stack if one of its card types is "Instant," or if it specifically says "considered an Instant." I can tell you with full confidence that no creature ability printed thus far says anything of the sort.

  5. #5
    battlefield is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    86

    Default Re: does tapping a creature with an ability work as an instant on the stack?

    I meant is it same speed as instant on the stack

  6. #6
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: does tapping a creature with an ability work as an instant on the stack?

    Ah, okay. Well, I'll first say that there's no such thing as "spell speed" in Magic (unlike a game such as Yugioh, which has Spell Speed 1, 2, and 3).

    However, a creature's activated ability has the same timing restrictions as Instants do -- unless stated otherwise. Brain Weevil, for example, says "activate only any time you could activate a sorcery." This doesn't mean it counts as a sorcery. Rather, it means you can only activate its ability at times you would be able to activate a sorcery, which is while the stack is empty and you have priority.

    So, creatures like Prodigal Sorcerer or Arcanis the Omnipotent can activate their activated abilities anytime you have priority, which is the same timing restriction as Instants have.

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:39 AM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.