+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Icey is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    106

    Default what happens if I target creature with shroud in tournament

    what happens if I target creature with shroud in magic tourney?

  2. #2
    Twanos's Avatar
    Twanos is offline Master Mason
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    649

    Default Re: what happens if I target creature with shroud in tournament

    When you announce that you are targeting the creature with the spell the game recognizes this as an illegal action and says you can do it so you are refunded any mana you used to cast the spell and it is returned to your hand. There would be no corrective action taken by a judge unless it started happening alot.

  3. #3
    Aoe's Avatar
    Aoe
    Aoe is offline Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    163

    Default Re: what happens if I target creature with shroud in tournament

    Quote Originally Posted by Twanos View Post
    There would be no corrective action taken by a judge unless it started happening alot.
    ... or if after the spell returns to your hand you cast it targetting the SAME creature with shroud AGAIN

  4. #4
    Magmar is offline Common
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    44

    Default Re: what happens if I target creature with shroud in tournament

    you should play wrath of god instead because that is legal play to kill the creature with shroud

  5. #5
    seba1983 Guest

    Default Re: what happens if I target creature with shroud in tournament

    not every deck can run wrath of good. also global removal is not always what you want. on top of that there are formats where a 4 mana removal often is just too slow.

  6. #6
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: what happens if I target creature with shroud in tournament

    More technically, an error like this falls under "Game Play Error - Game Rule Violation". It would give you a caution at regular REL, and a warning at competitive and professional RELs. If the infraction is discovered in a reasonable amount of time (usually within one turn cycle), you can just back up and rewind to the point just before the illegal action occured.

    That said, if it was caught immediately ("Cast Doom Blade on your Sphinx of Jwar Isle." "No, it has shroud." "Oops, my bad."), you should be able to back up pretty easily and nothing bad will happen. Just pay more attention in the future.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. can you target your own creature with shroud
    By Guest 1563 in forum Guests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-04-2010, 11:15 AM
  2. target creature then creature gains shroud
    By Guest 4582 in forum Guests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-02-2010, 10:27 AM
  3. how can you target a creature with shroud
    By Guest 4582 in forum Guests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-09-2010, 12:28 PM
  4. target creature has shroud
    By Guest 1532 in forum Guests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-15-2010, 01:59 PM
  5. target creature gets shroud
    By Guest 4582 in forum Guests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2010, 05:22 AM




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:25 PM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.