+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    stevie is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    90

    Default can an opponent discards with no hand? magic gathering rulings

    can opponent discard if he has no cards in hand according to magic rules

  2. #2
    ahadiel is offline Common
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: can an opponent discards with no hand? magic gathering rulings

    if you target a player who has no cards with say a Mind Rot, the card would "fizzle" as some say. In other words the card would resolve, the person would have discarded no cards and Mind Rot would be in the graveyard

    http://gatherer.wizards.com/pages/ca...Mind%20Rot


    resulting in a wasted Mind Rot.

  3. #3
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: can an opponent discards with no hand? magic gathering rulings

    Well, technically it wouldn't fizzle. To "fizzle" means to be countered due to a lack of legal targets. In this case, the Mind Rot isn't countered - it just doesn't do anything.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  4. #4
    Lakepirate's Avatar
    Lakepirate is offline Planeswalker
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    282

    Default Re: can an opponent discards with no hand? magic gathering rulings

    If you have to discard as part of the cost, and you have no cards to discard, then you cannot pay for the spell or ability.

    Example of discarding as a cost: Viashino Skeleton

  5. #5
    ahadiel is offline Common
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: can an opponent discards with no hand? magic gathering rulings

    Quote Originally Posted by Arix View Post
    Well, technically it wouldn't fizzle. To "fizzle" means to be countered due to a lack of legal targets. In this case, the Mind Rot isn't countered - it just doesn't do anything.
    that's what I pretty much said. Your definition of fizzle is clearly different than ours.

  6. #6
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: can an opponent discards with no hand? magic gathering rulings

    My definition is the one in the rules (well, the one that used to be - it's not in there at all any more). It's also an important distinction to make (when it comes to cards like Multani's Presence).
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  7. #7
    ahadiel is offline Common
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: can an opponent discards with no hand? magic gathering rulings

    Well if I ever play non standard, I'll keep that in mind.

  8. #8
    Chodie's Avatar
    Chodie is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Goshen, IN USA
    Posts
    648
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: can an opponent discards with no hand? magic gathering rulings

    An example i like to give is Tyrannize . If you have no cards in your hand you still have the option to pay 7 life or discard your hand. Well you've got nothing to lose so discard your hand.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2010, 11:07 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2010, 08:12 AM
  3. mtg target opponent discards his hand
    By Guest 1253 in forum Guests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2010, 01:09 PM
  4. equip magic gathering on opponent
    By Guest 2452 in forum Guests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-19-2010, 04:33 AM
  5. target players discards their hand magic card
    By Guest 1534 in forum Guests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-15-2010, 12:16 AM




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:19 AM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.