+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Gort is offline Common
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    27

    Default Trash for Treasure ruling needed

    Can the artifact returned with Trash for Treasure be the one I just sacrificed for it? For example if I just want to trigger a entered graveyard effect

  2. #2
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: Trash for Treasure ruling needed

    No. Targets are chosen before costs are paid, so by the time you're choosing what artifact to return, you haven't sacrificed anything yet.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  3. #3
    Gort is offline Common
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    27

    Default Re: Trash for Treasure ruling needed

    isn't the first part of casting a spell paying the cost? otherwise I could target stuff without having enough mana?

  4. #4
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: Trash for Treasure ruling needed

    No, and no.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  5. #5
    Twanos's Avatar
    Twanos is offline Master Mason
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    649

    Default Re: Trash for Treasure ruling needed

    The best way I know to describe this without getting knee deep into a rules quagmire...

    When you go to cast the spell you select the targets (soft target) to make sure they are legal for the spell you are wanting to use. If they are not you can't cast the spell. If they are legal then you move on to paying the costs and move the spell to the stack. Once the spell is on the stack, the game checks the boardstate for effects that will trigger because of the spell and/or targets. This is where targeted effects will actually catch something happening (hard target).

    So in your case you have to soft target the artifact in the grave to make sure it will be legal before the costs have been paid. Once the costs are paid and the spell goes to the stack you can't change targets to the new one you just moved to the grave.
    Past Master, Theodore Roosevelt #322 Green Bay, WI
    Past Master, Des Peres #85 De Pere, WI
    Past High Priest, Warren Chapter #8, Green Bay, WI
    Past Thrice Illustrious Master, Warren Council #13, Green Bay, WI
    Past Commander, Palestine Commandry #20 Green Bay, WI
    Member, Holy Royal Arch Knight Templar Priests
    Member, Knight York Cross of Honour
    Grand Captain of the Guard, Grand Council of Royal and Select Masters of Wisconsin
    32 Mason, AASR, Valley of Green Bay, WI

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 AM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.