+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    lynchy is offline Very Common
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    7

    Default Necromancy rules

    Hey again, got a tricky one
    So sydri, galvanic genius turns an artifact into a creature in response to spot removal, I (think?) assume the artifact is a creature for a moment as it touches the graveyard, can I, using necromancys ability, return that artifact to the battlefield? If so, does necromancy attach to it/does it get sacrificed/does the artifact remain in play without necromancy.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: Necromancy rules

    No, you can't. Although the artifact is a creature for a brief time as it goes to your graveyard (long enough to trigger any "whenever a creature dies" abilities), once it's there it stops being a creature. In your graveyard, it's just an artifact card.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  3. #3
    lynchy is offline Very Common
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Necromancy rules

    Hey, thanks for the reply
    Is the reasoning for this something along the lines of no player having priority when it's touching the gy as a creature, and the card returning to its original form as a state-based action?
    Is this similar to when tokens touch the gy? they do exist there for a moment, but disappear before anyone gets priority?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: Necromancy rules

    It's not a state-based action. It's just sort of a thing that's true. Effects that trigger when a creature dies look at the board state just before the creature died to see what should happen. At that point, the artifact was a creature, so it triggers appropriately. However, once the card is in your graveyard, it loses all ties to its previous existence on the battlefield, including the effect that turned it into a creature, so it is just an artifact card.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 AM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.