+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    kartiv is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    125

    Default can i cast soul feast if i have platinum emperion

    can i cast soul feast if i have platinum emperion

    to make other player lose life

  2. #2
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: can i cast soul feast if i have platinum emperion

    Yes. Although your life total cannot change, you can still cast spells and activate abilities that include an effect that tries to change your life total.

    On the other hand, you cannot cast spells or activate abilities that have a cost of losing/gaining life, since you would be unable to pay the cost.

  3. #3
    Piplup is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: can i cast soul feast if i have platinum emperion

    Doesn't this spell cost u 4 life?

  4. #4
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: can i cast soul feast if i have platinum emperion

    No. It doesn't "cost" anything. Read Soul Feast's text again:

    Target player loses 4 life and you gain 4 life.
    Even ignoring the fact that it actually gains you life, there's no additional cost to casting this.

    Compare with Withering Boon, which states:

    As an additional cost to cast Withering Boon, pay 3 life.
    And, as established before, you can't pay life for costs if you have Platinum Emperion, which its Gatherer ruling entries make quite clear:

    1/1/2011: You can't pay a cost that includes the payment of any amount of life other than 0 life.

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:45 AM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.