+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Tilo is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    125

    Default Salvage Scout sacrifice no artifact in graveyard

    Can I still sacrifice Salvage Scout if there is no artifacts in my graveyard?

  2. #2
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: Salvage Scout sacrifice no artifact in graveyard

    Nope. You can't activate abilities or cast spells that require a target(s) if there isn't any valid target for the ability/spell.

  3. #3
    Tilaki is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    67

    Default Re: Salvage Scout sacrifice no artifact in graveyard

    I thought we werent' supposed to target artifacts in the graveyard anyway?

  4. #4
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: Salvage Scout sacrifice no artifact in graveyard

    Tilaki, please read Salvage Scout's rules text again:

    W, Sacrifice Salvage Scout: Return target artifact card from your graveyard to your hand.
    You'll notice that its ability speciically targets an artifact card in your graveyard. Compare it with something like Into Thin Air, which can only be used on artifacts that are on the battlefield. Here's the portion of the Comprehensive Rules that explains this:

    114.2. Only permanents are legal targets for spells and abilities, unless a spell or ability (a) specifies
    that it can target an object in another zone or a player, (b) targets an object that canít exist on the
    battlefield, such as a spell or ability, or (c) targets a zone.
    Salvage Scout specifies that it targets an object in another zone, and Into Thin Air does not.

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:01 PM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.