+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    MagicMagic's Avatar
    MagicMagic is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    152

    Default can progenitus be equipped?

    Can you equip equipment on progenitus?

  2. #2
    Kappu1's Avatar
    Kappu1 is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    648

    Default Re: can progenitus be equipped?

    He has protection........ and that has been talked about on here.

    Protection stops four things - damage, enchanting/equipping, blocking, and targeting.

  3. #3
    MagicMagic's Avatar
    MagicMagic is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: can progenitus be equipped?

    But equipment is usually colorless so even if he has protection from all colors can you equip him?

  4. #4
    Kappu1's Avatar
    Kappu1 is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    648

    Default Re: can progenitus be equipped?

    Just read what I posted.......

  5. #5
    MagicMagic's Avatar
    MagicMagic is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: can progenitus be equipped?

    But you can put equipment on a creature with protection from green for example right, because equipment has no color. So can you equip progenitus because of the same reason?

  6. #6
    Kappu1's Avatar
    Kappu1 is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    648

    Default Re: can progenitus be equipped?

    702.14a Protection is a static ability, written "Protection from [quality]." This quality is usually a color (as in "protection from black") but can be any characteristic value. If the quality happens to be a card name, it is treated as such only if the protection ability specifies that the quality is a name. If the quality is a card type, subtype, or supertype, the ability applies to sources that are permanents with that card type, subtype, or supertype and to any sources not on the battlefield that are of that card type, subtype, or supertype. This is an exception to rule 109.2.

    702.14b A permanent or player with protection can't be targeted by spells with the stated quality and can't be targeted by abilities from a source with the stated quality.

    702.14c A permanent or player with protection can't be enchanted by Auras that have the stated quality. Such Auras attached to the permanent or player with protection will be put into their owners' graveyards as a state-based action. (See rule 704, "State-Based Actions.")

    702.14d A permanent with protection can't be equipped by Equipment that have the stated quality or fortified by Fortifications that have the stated quality. Such Equipment or Fortifications become unattached from that permanent as a state-based action, but remain on the battlefield. (See rule 704, "State-Based Actions.")

    702.14e Any damage that would be dealt by sources that have the stated quality to a permanent or player with protection is prevented.

    702.14f Attacking creatures with protection can't be blocked by creatures that have the stated quality.

    702.14g "Protection from [quality A] and from [quality B]" is shorthand for "protection from [quality A]" and "protection from [quality B]"; it behaves as two separate protection abilities. If an effect causes an object with such an ability to lose protection from [quality A], for example, that object would still have protection from [quality B].

    702.14h "Protection from all [characteristic]" is shorthand for "protection from [quality A]," "protection from [quality B]," and so on for each possible quality the listed characteristic could have; it behaves as multiple separate protection abilities. If an effect causes an object with such an ability to lose protection from [quality A], for example, that object would still have protection from [quality B], [quality C], and so on.

    702.14i "Protection from everything" is a variant of the protection ability. A permanent with protection from everything has protection from each object regardless of that object's characteristic values. Such a permanent can't be targeted by spells or abilities, enchanted by Auras, equipped by Equipment, fortified by Fortifications, or blocked by creatures, and all damage that would be dealt to it is prevented.

    702.14j Multiple instances of protection from the same quality on the same permanent or player are redundant.

  7. #7
    seba1983 Guest

    Default Re: can progenitus be equipped?

    to spell it out ... progenitus has protection from:

    - artifacts
    - equipment
    - colorless
    - activated abilitys
    - every single equipment there is by its cardname
    - permanents

    so he cant be targeted (hence equiped) if an equipment fullfils any of the above mentioned thing ... ohh that would be all of them for any equipment our there ...

    so no equiping. if you can get the equipment on progenitous by some effect that does not target (the keyword "equip" does target) then he can have an equip.

    a quick question: why on earth would a 10/10 prot everything need equipment ???

    ohh and even though it says protection from everything on the card progentius does not seem to have protection from people confuesed by the protection rules. ironicly that seems to be everyone who plays progy outside of a deck that runs natural order ... strange huh ?

  8. #8
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: can progenitus be equipped?

    Quote Originally Posted by seba1983
    if you can get the equipment on progenitous by some effect that does not target (the keyword "equip" does target) then he can have an equip.
    This is wrong. The protection rules specifically spell out that a creature with protection from X can't be equipped by X. So even if you could move an equipment around without targeting, it couldn't go on Progenitus, since Progenitus can't be equipped. Full stop.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  9. #9
    Josh's Avatar
    Josh is offline Very Rare
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,356

    Default Re: can progenitus be equipped?

    After playing a Sudden Spoiling you could equip until end of turn right (though not sure how much good that would do )

  10. #10
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: can progenitus be equipped?

    Yeah, you could do that.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. mtg equipped
    By Guest 3438 in forum Guests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-01-2010, 07:16 AM
  2. relic of progenitus against progenitus
    By Guest 6577 in forum Guests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-05-2010, 10:10 PM
  3. mtg equipped
    By Guest Poster in forum Guests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-17-2010, 09:20 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-22-2009, 10:47 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-18-2009, 08:12 PM




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:54 PM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.