+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Kenji

Thread: Can you counter a triggered ability on a creature by destroying the creature in Magic

  1. #1
    Pliko is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    54

    Default Can you counter a triggered ability on a creature by destroying the creature in Magic

    Can you counter a triggered ability on a creature by destroying the creature in Magic the Gathering

  2. #2
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: Can you counter a triggered ability on a creature by destroying the creature in M

    Nope, destroying the source of the ability once that ability is on the stack won't do anything to stop it. From the Comprehensive Rules:

    112.7a Once activated or triggered, an ability exists on the stack independently of its source.
    Destruction or removal of the source after that time won’t affect the ability. Note that some
    abilities cause a source to do something (for example, “Prodigal Sorcerer deals 1 damage to
    target creature or player”) rather than the ability doing anything directly. In these cases, any
    activated or triggered ability that references information about the source because the effect
    needs to be divided checks that information when the ability is put onto the stack. Otherwise, it
    will check that information when it resolves. In both instances, if the source is no longer in the
    zone it’s expected to be in at that time, its last known information is used. The source can still
    perform the action even though it no longer exists.
    If you want to counter the ability, you'll need something like Stifle, Trickbind, or Voidslime. Simply destroying the creature/permanent that the ability came from won't be enough.

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 PM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.