+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Kenji

Thread: Cryptborn Horror rules and Wretched Anurid +1/+1 lost life counters

  1. #1
    Teddy is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    156

    Default Cryptborn Horror rules and Wretched Anurid +1/+1 lost life counters

    If other player has not lost any life so far

    he controls a Wretched Anurid

    I cast Cryptborn Horror

    Will it enter the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter or not?

  2. #2
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: Cryptborn Horror rules and Wretched Anurid +1/+1 lost life counters

    No. The amount of life lost is determined just before Cryptborn Horror enters the battlefield, whereas Wretched Anurid only triggers after the creature has already entered.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  3. #3
    Tad
    Tad is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    262

    Default Re: Cryptborn Horror rules and Wretched Anurid +1/+1 lost life counters

    wont ability of Wretched Anurid trigger and go on top of Cryptborn Horror ability, resolving first and causing opponent to lose life so that the horror gets the counter?

  4. #4
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: Cryptborn Horror rules and Wretched Anurid +1/+1 lost life counters

    No. The mistake here is believing that Cryptborn Horror has a triggered ability -- this is not the case. For reference, here's its text:

    Trample
    Cryptborn Horror enters the battlefield with X +1/+1 counters on it, where X is the total life lost by your opponents this turn.
    If it were a triggered ability, it would say something along the lines of "When ~ enters the battlefield, put X +1/+1 counters on it...." [As an aside, a 0/0 creature with a triggered ability like this would also be in the graveyard before getting any counters.]

    Remember this about triggered abilities:

    112.3c Triggered abilities have a trigger condition and an effect. They are written as “[Trigger
    condition], [effect],” and begin with the word “when,” “whenever,” or “at.” Whenever the
    trigger event occurs, the ability is put on the stack the next time a player would receive priority
    and stays there until it’s countered, it resolves, or it otherwise leaves the stack. See rule 603,
    “Handling Triggered Abilities.”
    Since its ability is not written like that, it's not a triggered ability. Rather, it's a static ability that modifies how it enters the battlefield. By the time Wretched Anurid's ability goes on the stack, Cryptborn Horror has already entered with a number of +1/+1 counters on it based on how much life opponents have lost this turn.

    And, given the above scenario where the opponent hasn't lost any life this turn, that means the Cryptborn Horror enters as a 0/0 creature, and is sent to the graveyard as a state-based action before the Anurid's triggered ability even goes on the stack (and obviously, before it resolves).

    I tried to make this as clear as possible, but if you still need help, feel free to ask!

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:03 PM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.