+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Kenji

Thread: Deadbridge Goliath SCAVENGE rulings Exile card from graveyard in response?

  1. #1
    Teddy is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    156

    Default Deadbridge Goliath SCAVENGE rulings Exile card from graveyard in response?

    if other player scavenges Deadbridge Goliath

    could I respond with a card such as Jund Charm to prevent the scavenging and addition of counters?

  2. #2
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: Deadbridge Goliath SCAVENGE rulings Exile card from graveyard in response?

    Look at the formatting of Scavenge, as seen on Deadbridge Goliath:

    "4GG, Exile this card from your graveyard: Put a number of +1/+1 counter's equal to this card's power on target creature. Scavenge only as a sorcery."

    This tells you everything you need to know. Scavenge is an activated ability with a cost of exiling the card from the graveyard.

    Since you can't respond to costs, as you should already know, this means that the card is already exiled before you get a chance to do anything about it.

  3. #3
    smilon is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    146

    Default Re: Deadbridge Goliath SCAVENGE rulings Exile card from graveyard in response?

    but also doesnt it say "Scavenge only as a sorcery"?

  4. #4
    DatAsh's Avatar
    DatAsh is offline Rare
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    862

    Default Re: Deadbridge Goliath SCAVENGE rulings Exile card from graveyard in response?

    And that matters why? If I cast bone splinters and the creature gets sacrificed before it activates, I still had to sacrifice the creature. It's part of a cost.

  5. #5
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: Deadbridge Goliath SCAVENGE rulings Exile card from graveyard in response?

    "...only as a sorcery" is shorthand for "when the stack is empty and you have priority." And anyway, that's not relevant to the question being asked.

    If the ability has already been activated, the cost has been paid. It's that simple. If you want to keep an opponent from being able to use a Scavenge ability, you would need the Scavenge card from their graveyard before their Main Phase. Since, if they start their Main Phase, they have priority to cast spells and activate abilities, which obviously includes the Scavenge ability.

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:48 AM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.