+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    MagicMagic's Avatar
    MagicMagic is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    152

    Default Scarred Puma with Furor of the Bitten attacking if able

    If I control a Scarred Puma enchanted with Furor of the Bitten

    I also control a black creature

    Can I not attack at all, or am I forced to attack with both creatures?

  2. #2
    Jake1991's Avatar
    Jake1991 is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    458

    Default Re: Scarred Puma with Furor of the Bitten attacking if able

    You can choose not to attack at all.

    Scarred Puma needs a black or green attacker for it to attack. If you don't attack with the black creature, Puma can't attack regardless of abilities or effects forcing it to do so, which is why Furor of the Bitten and other similar effects state "if able." The creature is only forced to attack if it's able to.

  3. #3
    Swamp's Avatar
    Swamp is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    202

    Default Re: Scarred Puma with Furor of the Bitten attacking if able

    what about what Arix said here:
    can't attack block alone ember beast rules magic if able

    that you have to declare attackers in a way that does not violate any restrictions/requirements? since you have a choice of declaring both as attackers or none, shouldnt you declare both since that would satisfy the most requirements?

  4. #4
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: Scarred Puma with Furor of the Bitten attacking if able

    Yup, Jake's actually wrong. Attacking follows basically the same rules as blocking - you have to meet as many requirements as possible while avoiding any restrictions. In this case, attacking with both creatures fulfils the requirement of Puma attacking without violating its restriction, whereas not attacking with anything doesn't violate the restriction, but also doesn't fulfil the requirement. Therefore, attacking with both is your only option.

    Where Jake may have got confused is when it comes to costs to attack. If your opponent controls, say, a Norn's Annex, then you're not required to pay the cost for the Puma to attack, even if it's affected by something that says it has to.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  5. #5
    Tetris is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: Scarred Puma with Furor of the Bitten attacking if able

    cant you just skip the declare attackers phase so that you don't have to declare any attackers?

  6. #6
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: Scarred Puma with Furor of the Bitten attacking if able

    No.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:53 PM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.