+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Footprint's Avatar
    Footprint is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    350

    Default magic does rancor return to hand if countered?

    if i cast rancor and its countered, does it go back to my hand?

  2. #2
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: magic does rancor return to hand if countered?

    The answer is actually on the card itself:

    When Rancor is put into a graveyard from the battlefield,
    Or rather, it is if you're aware that a card that is countered is removed from the stack and goes directly to the graveyard -- that is, it never reaches the battlefield. Here's the relevant Comprehensive Rules quote:

    701.5. Counter
    701.5a To counter a spell or ability means to cancel it, removing it from the stack. It doesn’t resolve
    and none of its effects occur. A countered spell is put into its owner’s graveyard.

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:57 AM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.