+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Kenji

Thread: can creatures with mana abilities be tapped before producing mana?

  1. #1
    hideseek's Avatar
    hideseek is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    208

    Default can creatures with mana abilities be tapped before producing mana?

    can a creature with mana ability be tapped before producing the mana?

  2. #2
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: can creatures with mana abilities be tapped before producing mana?

    What exactly do you mean?
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  3. #3
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: can creatures with mana abilities be tapped before producing mana?

    Now, I think hideseek is asking: "If a creature activate its mana ability, can you tap it before it produces the mana?"

    If so, the answer is no, for a few reasons:

    1. Mana abilities don't use the stack. As such, it resolves immediately after it has been activated. You can't respond to something that doesn't use the stack, for obvious reasons, as "responding" to something means you intend to have your action resolve first. That can never happen with mana abilities, because they don't use the stack.

    2. Even if mana abilities did use the stack (remember, they do not), you can't respond to costs being paid. So, even if you could respond to a mana ability that was on the stack (entirely a hypothetical situation), it wouldn't matter because the cost has already been paid and the creature has been tapped.

    3. Now, you could try using something like Gideon's Lawkeeper to try tapping their creature. However, that ability does nothing whatsoever to stop your opponent from simply activating their creature's mana ability in response.

    Just like all activated abilities that aren't mana abilities, Gideon's Lawkeeper's ability has to go on the stack before it can resolve. As I'm sure you're aware, this means it does NOTHING until it has resolved. The simple act of "trying to tap an opponent's creature" absolutely does not prevent your opponent from tapping their creature in any way.

    Well...I'm not sure if any of the above is what you were asking, but if so, that should about cover it.

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:50 PM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.