+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Kenji

Thread: can you cast misdirection to duress?

  1. #1
    Leafy is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    111

    Default can you cast misdirection to duress?

    can you cast a misdirection to a duress?

  2. #2
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: can you cast misdirection to duress?

    You can. However, unless it's a multiplayer game, you won't accomplish anything. The controller of Duress isn't his own opponent, so Duress can't target him. If there are no other players around, you're the only legal target for Duress. So although you can target Duress with Misdirection, there's nothing to Misdirect it to, and nothing happens.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  3. #3
    Leafy is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    111

    Default Re: can you cast misdirection to duress?

    but he is my opponent?

  4. #4
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: can you cast misdirection to duress?

    But you don't control Duress.

  5. #5
    Leafy is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    111

    Default Re: can you cast misdirection to duress?

    but I control misdirection?

  6. #6
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: can you cast misdirection to duress?

    But Misdirection isn't targeting your opponent - it's changing what Duress targets.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  7. #7
    willie is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    67

    Default Re: can you cast misdirection to duress?

    can misdirection instead change the card being chosen?

  8. #8
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: can you cast misdirection to duress?

    No.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  9. #9
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: can you cast misdirection to duress?

    And before you ask why:

    Misdirection's text - "You may exile a blue card from your hand rather than pay Misdirection's mana cost.

    Change the target of target spell with a single target."

    Duress's text - "Target opponent reveals his or her hand. You choose a noncreature, nonland card from it. That player discards that card."

    Duress targets exactly one thing, and that's "target opponent." How do you know that it doesn't target any cards in an opponent's hand? The lack of the phrase "target card," for one. I'll further direct you to the Comprehensive Rules:

    114.9a Just because an object or player is being affected by a spell or ability doesn’t make that object or player a target of that spell or ability. Unless that object or player is identified by the word “target” in the text of that spell or ability, or the rule for that keyword ability, it’s not a target.

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:54 PM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.