+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    MagicMagic's Avatar
    MagicMagic is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    152

    Default can u unsummon elgaud shieldmate when it hits the battlefield before it soulbonds?

    can you unsummon elgaud shieldmate as soon as it hits the battlefield before it soul bonds and gets the hexproof?

  2. #2
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: can u unsummon elgaud shieldmate when it hits the battlefield before it soulbonds

    Yes, you can, and this is why:

    702.93a. Soulbond is a keyword that represents two triggered abilities. “Soulbond” means “When
    this creature enters the battlefield, if you control both this creature and another creature and both
    are unpaired, you may pair this creature with another unpaired creature you control for as long
    as both remain creatures on the battlefield under your control” and “Whenever another creature
    enters the battlefield under your control, if you control both that creature and this one and both
    are unpaired, you may pair that creature with this creature for as long as both remain creatures
    on the battlefield under your control.”
    Since it's a triggered ability that causes Elgaud Shieldmate to become paired via soulbond, you may indeed respond to this ability with Unsummon to successfully return it to its owner's hand before it gains hexproof.

  3. #3
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: can u unsummon elgaud shieldmate when it hits the battlefield before it soulbonds

    Note, however, that you'll have to do it before you know whether your opponent is pairing the Shieldmate with anything.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  4. #4
    Neil is offline Common
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: can u unsummon elgaud shieldmate when it hits the battlefield before it soulbonds

    are you sure about that, because like when i play if my friend casts a lightning bolt then first he tells who he is targeting and only then i decide if to use my counterspell or not

  5. #5
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: can u unsummon elgaud shieldmate when it hits the battlefield before it soulbonds

    Soulbond is different. Soulbond doesn't target anything. You only choose whether or not to pair the creatures when the ability resolves.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  6. #6
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: can u unsummon elgaud shieldmate when it hits the battlefield before it soulbonds

    How can you tell if a spell/ability targets? Because it will say that it targets, specifically. Here's an excerpt from the Comprehensive Rules, if you should need it:

    114.9a Just because an object or player is being affected by a spell or ability doesn’t make that
    object or player a target of that spell or ability. Unless that object or player is identified by the
    word “target” in the text of that spell or ability, or the rule for that keyword ability, it’s not a
    target.
    If either of the soulbond triggered abilities actually targeted anything, they would use the word "target" in the definition I quoted above. As this is not the case, you can safely and correctly assume that they don't target at all.

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:00 PM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.