+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SlowFast is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    143

    Default can nicol bolas be played with another red planeswalker?

    can you play Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker with another red planeswalker?

  2. #2
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: can nicol bolas be played with another red planeswalker?

    Yes...? Why wouldn't it?
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  3. #3
    Puck is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    253

    Default Re: can nicol bolas be played with another red planeswalker?

    can Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker be played with Nicol Bolas?

  4. #4
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: can nicol bolas be played with another red planeswalker?

    Yes. Nothing in the rules prevents Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker and Nicol Bolas (the creature) from being on the battlefield at the same time.

    704.5k If two or more legendary permanents with the same name are on the battlefield, all are put
    into their owners’ graveyards. This is called the “legend rule.” If only one of those permanents
    is legendary, this rule doesn’t apply.
    So, a couple of things:

    1. Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker isn't legendary..
    2. Even if it was, it doesn't have the exact same name as its creature counterpart.

  5. #5
    Swishhh is offline Common
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: can nicol bolas be played with another red planeswalker?

    what happens when two of the same planeswalkers are played

  6. #6
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: can nicol bolas be played with another red planeswalker?

    If two or more planeswalkers with the same subtype are ever on the battlefield at the same time, they all go to their owners' graveyards.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  7. #7
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: can nicol bolas be played with another red planeswalker?

    And, for reference, this one is known as the "planeswalker uniqueness rule":

    704.5j If two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type are on the battlefield, all are put
    into their owners’ graveyards. This is called the “planeswalker uniqueness rule.
    This rule cares about the Planeswalkers' subtype, not its name. So, for example, Jace Beleren and Jace, the Mind Sculptor will both be put into their owners' graveyards as a state-based action if both are ever on the battlefield at the same time.

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:04 PM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.