+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    battlefield is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    86

    Default whenever you gain life draw a card, do i draw 2 cards for 2 life?

    if a card says to draw a card whenever I gain life, and I gain 2 life, do I draw two cards?

  2. #2
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: whenever you gain life draw a card, do i draw 2 cards for 2 life?

    No. You draw a single card for each instance of life gain, no matter how much life is gained.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  3. #3
    battlefield is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    86

    Default Re: whenever you gain life draw a card, do i draw 2 cards for 2 life?

    is it per turn?

  4. #4
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: whenever you gain life draw a card, do i draw 2 cards for 2 life?

    ...is what per turn?
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  5. #5
    battlefield is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    86

    Default Re: whenever you gain life draw a card, do i draw 2 cards for 2 life?

    Life gain instance

  6. #6
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: whenever you gain life draw a card, do i draw 2 cards for 2 life?

    Your question is still vague, and it sounds like you aren't completely understanding Arix's answer. Anyway, let's use some actual card names to make this easier on all of us.

    Drogskol Reaver has the triggered ability, "Whenever you gain life, draw a card."

    This triggered ability triggers once for every single effect that causes you to gain life. You can trigger this multiple times in a turn, but only if you gain life from multiple effects.

    For example, let's say you attack with Drogskol Reaver, and it goes unblocked. The Reaver itself has both double strike and lifelink. This means that it deals combat damage twice, which in turn means that you gain life twice. This results in the Reaver's triggered ability triggering two times.

    Does that make sense to you? If not, we can simplify it even further, but this should be pretty easy to follow.

    In short: "Whenever you gain life, draw a card." is a triggered ability that lets you draw a card once per life gain effect, and not once per point of life gained. If you cast a sorcery that says "gain 10 life", you'll draw one card, not 10,

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:46 PM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.