+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Kenji

Thread: soulbond paired creature Elgaud Shieldmate rulings TRANSFORM

  1. #1
    SlowFast is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    143

    Default soulbond paired creature Elgaud Shieldmate rulings TRANSFORM

    if Elgaud Shieldmate is paired with Daybreak Ranger

    and Daybreak ranger TRANSFORMS into Nightfall Predator

    does Nightfall Predator have HEXPROOF?

  2. #2
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: soulbond paired creature Elgaud Shieldmate rulings TRANSFORM

    Yes. A creature that transforms is still the same creature, just with a different set of characteristics. It's still paired with the Shieldmate and therefore still gets the bonus for being paired.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  3. #3
    battlefield is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    86

    Default Re: soulbond paired creature Elgaud Shieldmate rulings TRANSFORM

    I think no because soulbond says "as long as you control both of them" and since you no longer control a elguad shieldmate instead you control a daybreak ranger they are no longer paired. But it doesnt matter since you can pair the ranger again anyway as it enters the battlefield.

  4. #4
    Jake1991's Avatar
    Jake1991 is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    458

    Default Re: soulbond paired creature Elgaud Shieldmate rulings TRANSFORM

    Quote Originally Posted by battlefield View Post
    I think no because soulbond says "as long as you control both of them" and since you no longer control a elguad shieldmate instead you control a daybreak ranger they are no longer paired. But it doesnt matter since you can pair the ranger again anyway as it enters the battlefield.
    Arix is right. The Nightfall Predator is the same creature, it only changed it's characteristics. Soulbond doesn't care what happens to the paired creatures as long as you still control both of them. Since you still control both paired creatures, soulbond is still active.

    Also, a transforming creature never, at any point, leaves and re-enters the battlefield.

  5. #5
    battlefield is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    86

    Default Re: soulbond paired creature Elgaud Shieldmate rulings TRANSFORM

    what about a level 3 Beastbreaker of Bala Ged that becomes a level 4, does that break the pair?

  6. #6
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: soulbond paired creature Elgaud Shieldmate rulings TRANSFORM

    No. The only ways to break a pair are to either lose control of one of the creatures, or for one of the creatures to stop being a creature.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  7. #7
    battlefield is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    86

    Default Re: soulbond paired creature Elgaud Shieldmate rulings TRANSFORM

    why if it stops being a creature? isnt that also considered "changing characteristics"?

  8. #8
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: soulbond paired creature Elgaud Shieldmate rulings TRANSFORM

    It is. But the difference is that the rules of soulbond explicitly state that the bond breaks if one stops being a creature. Presumably, something without a soul can't be soulbonded.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  9. #9
    SlowFast is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    143

    Default Re: soulbond paired creature Elgaud Shieldmate rulings TRANSFORM

    if the creature that is no longer a creature becomes a creature again is it still considered paired? or can you pair it again that moment it becomes a creature?

  10. #10
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: soulbond paired creature Elgaud Shieldmate rulings TRANSFORM

    No. Once a pair is broken, the only way to re-pair them is to make one of them re-enter the battlefield somehow.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  11. #11
    hideseek's Avatar
    hideseek is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    208

    Default Re: soulbond paired creature Elgaud Shieldmate rulings TRANSFORM

    when u activate a manland can u pair it

  12. #12
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: soulbond paired creature Elgaud Shieldmate rulings TRANSFORM

    Nope. As established earlier in the thread, an object changing its characteristics is not the same as that object entering the battlefield.

    By definition, an object enters the battlefield when it was previously in another zone (hand, library, stack, graveyard, exile, command zone), and then ends up on the battlefield.

    A manland being animated into a creature did not at any point leave the battlefield, and then come back -- it was merely a land that turned into a land creature, and as such does not trigger any "enters the battlefield" abilities.

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:49 AM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.