+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    dwarf's Avatar
    dwarf is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    194

    Default incite war faq magic Creatures target player controls attack this turn if able

    if a player casts incite war targetting me with Creatures target player controls attack this turn if able, will my creatures coming into play that turn after the spell is cast also be required to attack or only those already on the battlefield?

  2. #2
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: incite war faq magic Creatures target player controls attack this turn if able

    Only creatures that can attack have to. If a creature couldn't normally attack - it has summoning sickness, it's tapped, it's enchanted by Pacifism, whatever - then it doesn't.

    Basically, if you couldn't attack with the creature normally, then it doesn't have to (because it, well, can't).
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  3. #3
    dwarf's Avatar
    dwarf is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    194

    Default Re: incite war faq magic Creatures target player controls attack this turn if able

    but does this apply also to creatures entering play after incite war has resolved (say if they have haste) or not because they were not on battlefield when incite war was played?

  4. #4
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: incite war faq magic Creatures target player controls attack this turn if able

    Only the ones that are in play at the time. Incite War doesn't change a rule of the game, it affects a group of creatures, so it only counts the ones that are then when it resolves.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  5. #5
    Merlin's Avatar
    Merlin is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    83

    Default Re: incite war faq magic Creatures target player controls attack this turn if able

    In the rules it says:

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    611.2c If a continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability modifies the characteristics or changes the controller of any objects, the set of objects it affects is determined when that continuous effect begins. After that point, the set won’t change. (Note that this works differently than a continuous effect from a static ability.) A continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability that doesn’t modify the characteristics or change the controller of any objects modifies the rules of the game, so it can affect objects that weren’t affected when that continuous effect began.
    Example: An effect that reads “All white creatures get +1/+1 until end of turn” gives the bonus to all permanents that are white creatures when the spell or ability resolves—
    even if they change color later—and doesn’t affect those that enter the battlefield or turn white afterward.
    Example: An effect that reads “Prevent all damage creatures would deal this turn” doesn’t modify any object’s characteristics, so it’s modifying the rules of the game. That means the effect will apply even to damage from creatures that weren’t on the battlefield when the continuous effect began. It also affects damage from permanents that become creatures later in the turn.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    how is "Creatures target player controls attack this turn if able" different then that second example?

  6. #6
    Logi's Avatar
    Logi is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    159

    Default Re: incite war faq magic Creatures target player controls attack this turn if able

    I think the first choice of incite war ("Creatures target player controls attack this turn if able") is not characteristic changing so it would also affect creatures coming into play that turn after it had resolved.

    The second choice ("or creatures you control gain first strike until end of turn.") changes a characteristic of the creatures so that one only counts those in play as it resolves.

  7. #7
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: incite war faq magic Creatures target player controls attack this turn if able

    The first choice is closer to the first example given.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  8. #8
    Logi's Avatar
    Logi is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    159

    Default Re: incite war faq magic Creatures target player controls attack this turn if able

    what characteristic does it modify?

  9. #9
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: incite war faq magic Creatures target player controls attack this turn if able

    Whoa, hang on, I don't know what I was reading. It's not like that.

    And now that I'm actually thinking about it, I can see how Incite War actually does modify the rules. If it just said "Creatures attack tihs turn if able", it's clearly modifying the rules. Only affecting certain creatures doesn't change that.

    So yes, I was wrong, and yes, it affects creatures that come in later.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  10. #10
    Ninja's Avatar
    Ninja is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    308

    Default Re: incite war faq magic Creatures target player controls attack this turn if able

    What if it is played in the combat step after attackers have been declared?

  11. #11
    Twanos's Avatar
    Twanos is offline Master Mason
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    649

    Default Re: incite war faq magic Creatures target player controls attack this turn if able

    after the attackers have been declared it will have no effect that turn because it doesn't force you to go back in time to that happened.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-21-2010, 11:53 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-26-2010, 07:22 PM
  3. target player discards a card ruling magic
    By Evolve in forum Magic Rules Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-22-2010, 06:22 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-24-2009, 12:12 AM
  5. deal damage to target creature or player Magic the Gathering
    By Squad in forum Magic: The Gathering (MTG)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-10-2009, 03:57 PM




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:00 PM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.