+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    pete's Avatar
    pete is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    191

    Default mtg lands count as plains rules

    does any land that makes white mana counts as plains

  2. #2
    seba1983 Guest

    Default Re: mtg lands count as plains rules

    no. that would be pretty interesting ^^. only lands with the subtyp "plains" count as plains. the subtyp is found in the cardtype line and will have to read one of the following fo a land to count as a plain:

    basic land - plains
    basic snow land - plains
    land - plains
    legendary land - plains

    there can be additional subtypes such as "land - plains island". also "legendary land - plains" does not exist at the moment.

  3. #3
    Ivlonkey is offline Common
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: mtg lands count as plains rules

    I used the Search Function i'm afraid this is the closest post i can find that comes close to answering my Question and it doesn't.. Dormant Volcano Reads "comes into play Tapped and Return an Untapped mountain you control to owner's hand"
    So can i return anything that counts as a land that produces red Like :
    Mountain Valley
    Sandstone Needle
    Ravaged Highlands
    Ghitu encampment
    Cinder Marsh
    Or am i only Able to return Just the basic Generic Mountain's???

  4. #4
    seba1983 Guest

    Default Re: mtg lands count as plains rules

    like above you need the subtype mountain. this can be a basic mountain or a non basic land that is also a mountain like Stomping Ground. the ones you posteed are all no mountains so you can't return them.

  5. #5
    Ivlonkey is offline Common
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: mtg lands count as plains rules

    thats kinda what i figured but sence they didn't start printing the "land - Mountain" till after the lands i linkd were printed wasn't sure if there was a kind of grandfather ruling

  6. #6
    seba1983 Guest

    Default Re: mtg lands count as plains rules

    the greatest number of non-basic lands do not have a standard land type. even the ones that do that were printed befor they cleaned up the type line had some rules text that showed they had basic-land types. here's a quick example:

    Taiga the better and older stomping ground does not have "land - mountain forest" in its typeline but it has the according rules text.

    if the card does not say anywhere that it has a basic land typ it does not. that can be used as a general guidelin for older cards too.

  7. #7
    Ivlonkey is offline Common
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: mtg lands count as plains rules

    Dang forgot all about those lands.. should have done a little more research... Thanks alot for the quick responses much appreciated..

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. do dual lands count as plains
    By Guest 1037 in forum Guests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-10-2010, 05:40 PM
  2. our nonbasic lands count as plains
    By Guest 1563 in forum Guests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2010, 05:57 AM
  3. do non basic lands still count as plains
    By Guest Poster in forum Guests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-20-2010, 03:13 PM
  4. magic the gathering rules do lands count as permanents
    By riolu in forum Learn to Play Magic
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-26-2009, 06:56 AM




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:35 AM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.