+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17
Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By kevin
  • 4 Post By Arix

Thread: prey upon can you redirect spell and make creature fight itself?

  1. #1
    Muk
    Muk is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    405

    Default prey upon can you redirect spell and make creature fight itself?

    if someone casts prey upon can I cast Redirect and make his creature fight itself?

  2. #2
    Jake1991's Avatar
    Jake1991 is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    458

    Default Re: prey upon can you redirect spell and make creature fight itself?

    Quote Originally Posted by Prey Upon's Rules Text
    Target creature you control fights target creature you don't control.
    You can't Redirect Prey Upon to make a creature to fight itself.

    One creature has to be a creature that Prey Upon's controller controls and the other creature has to be a creature Prey Upon's controller doesn't control.

  3. #3
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: prey upon can you redirect spell and make creature fight itself?

    Keep in mind that Redirect doesn't let you choose targets that you couldn't have chosen upon originally casting the spell.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  4. #4
    Muk
    Muk is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    405

    Default Re: prey upon can you redirect spell and make creature fight itself?

    so how about with a Rings of Brighthearth?

  5. #5
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: prey upon can you redirect spell and make creature fight itself?

    What about it?
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  6. #6
    Muk
    Muk is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    405

    Default Re: prey upon can you redirect spell and make creature fight itself?

    can you use it to make a creature fight itself?

  7. #7
    kevin's Avatar
    kevin is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: prey upon can you redirect spell and make creature fight itself?

    If a creature somehow fights itself, it will deal damage to itself equal to its power twice simultaneously.

  8. #8
    Muk
    Muk is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    405

    Default Re: prey upon can you redirect spell and make creature fight itself?

    interesting... but can i make it fight itself in the first place using the Rings of Brighthearth?

  9. #9
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: prey upon can you redirect spell and make creature fight itself?

    No, Rings of Brighthearth has nothing to do with fighting...are you sure you're thinking of the right card?
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  10. #10
    Muk
    Muk is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    405

    Default Re: prey upon can you redirect spell and make creature fight itself?

    sorry was thinking of the nightfall predator. He has the fight ability. if opponent activates it to fight one of my creautres, can i use the rings to copy that ability and make the predator fight itself?

  11. #11
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: prey upon can you redirect spell and make creature fight itself?

    No, Rings only triggers on abilities that you activate.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  12. #12
    Leafy is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    111

    Default Re: prey upon can you redirect spell and make creature fight itself?

    Quote Originally Posted by Arix View Post
    Keep in mind that Redirect doesn't let you choose targets that you couldn't have chosen upon originally casting the spell.
    except that you are wrong because redirct says YOU may choose new targets for that spell

    so muk cast the redirect and he is the spell's controller so he is "YOU"

    so now lets say other player chose creature X he controls and creature Y he doesnt control

    the first target (creature X he controls) its ok to stay the same
    the second target (Creature Y he doesnt control) can be changed to X because muk doesnt control creature X so now its a valid target

  13. #13
    Jake1991's Avatar
    Jake1991 is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    458

    Default Re: prey upon can you redirect spell and make creature fight itself?

    Quote Originally Posted by Leafy View Post
    except that you are wrong because redirct says YOU may choose new targets for that spell

    so muk cast the redirect and he is the spell's controller so he is "YOU"

    so now lets say other player chose creature X he controls and creature Y he doesnt control

    the first target (creature X he controls) its ok to stay the same
    the second target (Creature Y he doesnt control) can be changed to X because muk doesnt control creature X so now its a valid target
    The chosen targets need to be legal according to Prey Upon's controller, as he/she is "you" in regards to Prey Upon. Redirect doesn't change that.

    Redirect can't change the second target of Prey Upon to Creature X as Prey Upon's controller controls that creature.

    The first target has to be a creature Prey Upon's controller controls.
    The second target has to be a creature Prey Upon's controller doesn't control.

  14. #14
    Leafy is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    111

    Default Re: prey upon can you redirect spell and make creature fight itself?

    then if what you say is true he can change the original creature to be the second target (that prey upon's controller controls) and then he can make the first creature be also the same creature?

  15. #15
    Jake1991's Avatar
    Jake1991 is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    458

    Default Re: prey upon can you redirect spell and make creature fight itself?

    Both targets of Prey Upon can't be the same creature, it's impossible. A player can't control and not control a creature, or any other permanent for that matter, at the same time.

    The first target is a creature Prey Upon's controller controls. Therefore, the second target can't be the same creature as it's not a creature he/she doesn't control. The second target has to be another creature which he/she doesn't control.

  16. #16
    kevin's Avatar
    kevin is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: prey upon can you redirect spell and make creature fight itself?

    dude if u are so set on watching a creature fighting itself just play your own Daybreak Ranger and transform it into Nightfall Predator
    then make sure you have some Furnace of Rath out and maybe a few Gratuitous Violence and also cast a Overblaze on the predator, finally grab some popcorn and activate its ability targeting itself and now you can watch the predator fight himself

    WARNING: BUT BEFORE YOU DO THE ABOVE, MAKE SURE OTHER PLAYER DOESNT HAVE A REFLECT DAMAGE IN HIS HAND

  17. #17
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: prey upon can you redirect spell and make creature fight itself?

    Quote Originally Posted by kevin View Post
    dude if u are so set on watching a creature fighting itself just play your own Daybreak Ranger and transform it into Nightfall Predator
    then make sure you have some Furnace of Rath out and maybe a few Gratuitous Violence and also cast a Overblaze on the predator, finally grab some popcorn and activate its ability targeting itself and now you can watch the predator fight himself
    After doing this, cast Mirrorweave to turn the Predator into a Spitemare, and let the lols roll.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:18 PM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.