+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    popsicle's Avatar
    popsicle is offline Common
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default can you stack creatures? magic

    can u stack creatures in magic

  2. #2
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: can you stack creatures? magic

    Like...how?
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  3. #3
    Alterloth is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    318

    Default Re: can you stack creatures? magic

    If its what I think you mean, then you might have "on the stack" confused with actually putting creature cards on top of your library in any order you want them to be...

    Also, you might be referring to spells that allow you to put cards on top of your library in any order, which in this case yes, you would be able to "stack" creatures on top of your library in whichever order you want...that is, spells that read "search your library for any number of _________ , then put those cards in whatever order on top of your library then shuffle your library" then yes, you would find in this case whatever creature cards you want and then "stack" the creatures on the top of your library....

  4. #4
    Chodie's Avatar
    Chodie is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Goshen, IN USA
    Posts
    648
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: can you stack creatures? magic

    But if your talking about "On the stack" as in responding with spells... no you can't have a creature "on the stack" unless they have flash or some ability that allows them to be played at instant speed.

  5. #5
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: can you stack creatures? magic

    Unless the stack is empty.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  6. #6
    Chodie's Avatar
    Chodie is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Goshen, IN USA
    Posts
    648
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: can you stack creatures? magic

    Of course. I just forget, thanks.

  7. #7
    popsicle's Avatar
    popsicle is offline Common
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: can you stack creatures? magic

    i meant if you can stack them like if i have 2 Craw Wurm that are 6/4 can I stack them so its a 12/8?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Daly City, CA
    Posts
    585

    Default Re: can you stack creatures? magic

    Two Craw Wurms are always going to be two Craw Wurms. This is not Voltron or Power Rangers. They don't combine into a bigger, better robotic wurm to take out your opponent regardless of how big Rita Repulsa's wand may make them.

    In short, no. Two Craw Wurms will still deal 12 damage if both go unblocked, though.

  9. #9
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: can you stack creatures? magic

    There once was a mechanic called banding that kinda let you do something like that, but we don't talk about that.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  10. #10
    Twanos's Avatar
    Twanos is offline Master Mason
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    649

    Default Re: can you stack creatures? magic

    Banding was awesome!! I had a banding deck back in the beginning of time.

    Banding = If you understand all these rules you win

  11. #11
    Chodie's Avatar
    Chodie is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Goshen, IN USA
    Posts
    648
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: can you stack creatures? magic

    What are the rules for banding, i haven't really had many cards with banding.

  12. #12
    Twanos's Avatar
    Twanos is offline Master Mason
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    649

    Default Re: can you stack creatures? magic

    702.19. Banding

    702.19a Banding is a static ability that modifies the rules for combat.

    702.19b “Bands with other” is a special form of banding. If an effect causes a permanent to lose banding, the permanent loses all “bands with other” abilities as well.

    702.19c As a player declares attackers, he or she may declare that one or more attacking creatures with banding and up to one attacking creature without banding (even if it has “bands with other”) are all in a “band.” He or she may also declare that one or more attacking [quality] creatures with “bands with other [quality]” and any number of other attacking [quality] creatures are all in a band. A player may declare as many attacking bands as he or she wants, but each creature may be a member of only one of them. (Defending players can’t declare bands but may use banding in a different way; see rule 702.19j.)

    702.19d All creatures in an attacking band must attack the same player or planeswalker.

    702.19e Once an attacking band has been announced, it lasts for the rest of combat, even if something later removes banding or “bands with other” from one or more of the creatures in the band.

    702.19f An attacking creature that’s removed from combat is also removed from the band it was in.

    702.19g Banding doesn’t cause attacking creatures to share abilities, nor does it remove any abilities. The attacking creatures in a band are separate permanents.

    702.19h If an attacking creature becomes blocked by a creature, each other creature in the same band as the attacking creature becomes blocked by that same blocking creature. Example: A player attacks with a band consisting of a creature with flying and a creature with swampwalk. The defending player, who controls a Swamp, can block the flying creature if able. If he or she does, then the creature with swampwalk will also become blocked by the blocking creature(s).

    702.19i If one member of a band would become blocked due to an effect, the entire band becomes blocked.

    702.19j During the combat damage step, if an attacking creature is being blocked by a creature with banding, or by both a [quality] creature with “bands with other [quality]” and another [quality] creature, the defending player (rather than the active player) chooses how the attacking creature’s damage is assigned. That player can divide that creature’s combat damage as he or she chooses among any number of creatures blocking it. This is an exception to the procedure described in rule 510.1c.

    702.19k During the combat damage step, if a blocking creature is blocking a creature with banding, or both a [quality] creature with “bands with other [quality]” and another [quality] creature, the active player (rather than the defending player) chooses how the blocking creature’s damage is assigned. That player can divide that creature’s combat damage as he or she chooses among any
    number of creatures it’s blocking. This is an exception to the procedure described in rule 510.1d.

    702.19m Multiple instances of banding on the same creature are redundant. Multiple instances of “bands with other” of the same kind on the same creature are redundant.


    There is no 702.19L so don't don't worry that it was skipped, it simply doesn't exist lol

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:33 AM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.