+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Piplup is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    53

    Default in magicthe gathering how do you discard if you have no cards in your hand

    in mtg how do you discard if you have no cards in your hand

  2. #2
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: in magicthe gathering how do you discard if you have no cards in your hand

    You don't.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  3. #3
    Piplup is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: in magicthe gathering how do you discard if you have no cards in your hand

    because i lose?

  4. #4
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: in magicthe gathering how do you discard if you have no cards in your hand

    No, you just don't discard.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  5. #5
    DatAsh's Avatar
    DatAsh is offline Rare
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    862

    Default Re: in magicthe gathering how do you discard if you have no cards in your hand

    Why does everybody think you lose if you have nothing in your hand? It makes no sense.

  6. #6
    Piplup is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: in magicthe gathering how do you discard if you have no cards in your hand

    but the card says to discard how do i not do what the card says and not lose

  7. #7
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: in magicthe gathering how do you discard if you have no cards in your hand

    Because the card can't make you do something that you can't do. You just don't do it. You don't automatically lose just because you can't do something the card tells you to.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  8. #8
    DatAsh's Avatar
    DatAsh is offline Rare
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    862

    Default Re: in magicthe gathering how do you discard if you have no cards in your hand

    Ugh... If you have nothing to discard, then you can't discard. It's really simple. Nothing happens.

  9. #9
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: in magicthe gathering how do you discard if you have no cards in your hand

    Losing the game because you're trying to draw from an empty library is entirely different from trying to discard from an empty hand.

    The main reason? Because the rules say so.

    104.3. There are several ways to lose the game.

    104.3a A player can concede the game at any time. A player who concedes leaves the game immediately. He or she loses the game.

    104.3b If a player’s life total is 0 or less, he or she loses the game the next time a player would receive priority. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)

    104.3c If a player is required to draw more cards than are left in his or her library, he or she draws the remaining cards, and then loses the game the next time a player would receive priority. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)

    104.3d If a player has ten or more poison counters, he or she loses the game the next time a player would receive priority. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)

    104.3e An effect may state that a player loses the game.

    104.3f If a player would both win and lose the game simultaneously, he or she loses the game.

    104.3g In a multiplayer game between teams, a team loses the game if all players on that team have
    lost the game.

    104.3h In a multiplayer game, an effect that states that a player wins the game instead causes all of that player’s opponents to lose the game. (This may not cause the game to end if the limited range of influence option is being used; see rule 801.)

    104.3i In an Emperor game, a team loses the game if its emperor loses the game. (See rule 809.5.)

    104.3j In a Commander game, a player that’s been dealt 21 or more combat damage by the same commander over the course of the game loses the game. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704. Also see rule 903.14.)

    104.3k In a tournament, a player may lose the game as a result of a penalty given by a judge. See rule 100.6.
    You'll note a distinct lack of "a player who cannot discard a card loses the game," because that simply isn't one of the rules at all. If it was ,then obviously it would be included in the above rules quotes.

  10. #10
    steelix is offline Very Common
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: in magicthe gathering how do you discard if you have no cards in your hand

    dont u get to draw 7 new cards?

  11. #11
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: in magicthe gathering how do you discard if you have no cards in your hand

    No.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

  12. #12
    DatAsh's Avatar
    DatAsh is offline Rare
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    862

    Default Re: in magicthe gathering how do you discard if you have no cards in your hand

    Why does everybody assume these things before they read the basic rules?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Daly City, CA
    Posts
    585

    Default Re: in magicthe gathering how do you discard if you have no cards in your hand

    I'm also curious why people start a thread title with "in Magic: The Gathering", or some variation of, in an area dedicated to nothing but Magic.

  14. #14
    DatAsh's Avatar
    DatAsh is offline Rare
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    862

    Default Re: in magicthe gathering how do you discard if you have no cards in your hand

    That has always bothered me. The board is about MTG, there's no reason to specify the question is.

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:39 PM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.