+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Kenji

Thread: Summoning Sickness questions

  1. #1
    Trinoger is offline Common
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    28

    Default Summoning Sickness questions

    hey all,

    Relatively new to magic. Trying to understand summoning sickness. Here are some questions I have:

    1) can you use abilities when summoning sickness?

    2) If you mind control a creature does have summoning sickness?

    3) When a creature transforms does it have summoning sickness?

    4) do artifact creatures have summoning sickness

    5) can a llanowar elves with summoning sickness still make forest?

    6) creatures returning from exile - do they have summoning sickness?

    7) do regenerated creatures have summoning sickness

    8) How about planeswalkers?

    9) when does summoning sickness end exactly?

  2. #2
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: Summoning Sickness questions

    Here, let's post up what the Comprehensive Rules have to say about summoning sickness, and then I'll answer your questions:

    (The Comprehensive Rules document can be viewed/downloaded from here: Magic: The Gathering Rules : Wizards of the Coast)

    Summoning Sickness Rule
    Informal term for a player’s inability to attack with a creature or to activate its abilities that include the tap
    symbol or the untap symbol unless the creature has been under that player’s control since the beginning of
    that player’s most recent turn. See rule 302.6. See also Haste.
    1. You can, as long as the ability doesn't include the tap or untap symbol in its cost. For example, you can use Mogg Fanatic activated ability the same turn it enters the battlefield. Even a card like Birchlore Rangers can be tapped to help pay the cost of its activated ability when it has summoning sickness, precisely because said ability does not use either the tap or untap symbol.

    2. Yes, see the rule quoted above. A creature is "summoning sick" unless it has been under your control continuously since the beginning of your most recent turn.

    3. Not unless it already had summoning sickness. Remember, a creature that transforms is not treated as a new object -- it simply changes its characteristics.

    4. They are creatures, so they are also subject to summoning sickness.

    5. Clarification: Llanowar Elves do not "make Forest." They add one green mana (or G) to your mana pool. That's significantly different from "making a forest" or "putting a Forest onto the battlefield," neither of which happens when you activate Llanowar Elves's mana ability. Essentially, using Llanowar Elves's mana ability is the same as tapping a Forest for mana. It simply adds one green mana to your mana pool; no additional Forest cards are added to the battlefield or anything like that.

    6. Yes, in fact objects that go from one zone to another lose all memory of their previous existence. Since the creature just now entered the battlefield, it is "sick" again until you've controlled it since the beginning of your own turn.

    7. No, unless they regenerate while they were already "summoning sick." Regenerate creates a "shield" that replaces the next instance of destruction with "is not destroyed, remove all damage marked on this permanent, tap it, and remove it from combat." Here is the relevant Comprehensive Rules definition of Regenerate:

    701.12a If the effect of a resolving spell or ability regenerates a permanent, it creates a replacement
    effect that protects the permanent the next time it would be destroyed this turn. In this case,
    “Regenerate [permanent]” means “The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn,
    instead remove all damage marked on it and tap it. If it’s an attacking or blocking creature,
    remove it from combat.”
    8. Planeswalkers are not creatures. You can tell this because they do not have the word "creature" on their type line. As they are not creatures, summoning sickness does nothing to stop their activated abilities from being used the turn they enter the battlefield. Just keep in mind that loyalty abilties can only be activated once during your turn per planeswalker. For example, if you had Garruk, Liliana, and Jace all on your battlefield, each would be able to use one of its loyalty abilties once.

    9 See the above quote. I've certainly referenced it enough that I don't need to say it yet again here.

    I hope this all helps! It sounds like you could use some brushing up on the rules. Here's a link to a thread from Wizards of the Coast's official MtG forum: Whoops! Browser Settings Incompatible

    While ultimately, you should try to start digesting the more complex Comprehensive Rules, if you're just starting out your best bet is to use simpler Rules FAQs. You can always work your way up to the more involved rules interactions once you get used to the more basic stuff.

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:58 PM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.