+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Tebi2 is offline Common
    Join Date
    Jun 2012

    Default if i make a player discard a card can he regenerate creature that has regenerate?

    if i make a player discards a card can they regenerate creatures with regenerate?

  2. #2
    Kenji's Avatar
    Kenji is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011

    Default Re: if i make a player discard a card can he regenerate creature that has regenerate?

    No, for a couple of reasons:

    1. Most creatures gain Regenerate via an activated ability. Like just about every activated ability (except those that specify otherwise), a regeneration ability can only be activated on a creature that's on the battlefield.

    2. Regenerate doesn't apply to a creature card that's about to be discarded. This is what regenerate does, in case you need a refresher:

    701.12a If the effect of a resolving spell or ability regenerates a permanent, it creates a replacement
    effect that protects the permanent the next time it would be destroyed this turn. In this case,
    “Regenerate [permanent]” means “The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn,
    instead remove all damage marked on it and tap it. If it’s an attacking or blocking creature,
    remove it from combat.”
    You'll recall that permanents are objects on the battlefield only. As such, this wording tells you that it's impossible to regenerate something that's not on the battlefield. Moreover, it wouldn't do anything -- a card in your hand that's discarded is not being destroyed, as destruction is something that happens to permanents on the battlefield.



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:57 PM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.