+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Arix

Thread: activate ability of Deathmark Prelate with no sorceries in my hand?

  1. #1
    Venusaur is offline Common
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    49

    Default activate ability of Deathmark Prelate with no sorceries in my hand?

    is it ok to use ability of a Deathmark Prelate if i have no sorceries in my hand?

  2. #2
    Jake1991's Avatar
    Jake1991 is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    458

    Default Re: activate ability of Deathmark Prelate with no sorceries in my hand?

    Deathmark Prelate's ability states "Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery". This means you can only activate it during your turn, during the Main Phase, and when the stack is empty. Just like casting a sorcery. You don't need anything special in your hand to activate this ability.

  3. #3
    Venusaur is offline Common
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: activate ability of Deathmark Prelate with no sorceries in my hand?

    because if i dont have sorcery in my hand i cant cast sorcery so u sure its ok to activate the power?

  4. #4
    Venusaur is offline Common
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: activate ability of Deathmark Prelate with no sorceries in my hand?

    maybe u can show quote from rulebook

  5. #5
    Jake1991's Avatar
    Jake1991 is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    458

    Default Re: activate ability of Deathmark Prelate with no sorceries in my hand?

    This ability has nothing to do with casting a sorcery.

    The phrase, "Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery", only restricts when you are allowed to activate this ability, which would be during your turn while the stack is empty.

    You don't need anything in your hand for this ability.

  6. #6
    Venusaur is offline Common
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: activate ability of Deathmark Prelate with no sorceries in my hand?

    yeah thats what someone else told me too

    but the card still says
    Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery

    and if i dont have sorcery in hand then obviously its not a time that i can cast sorcery since i cant cast sorcery

    thats why was wondering if there is ruling from rulebook or judge on it

    otherwise i need to put more sorceries in my deck

  7. #7
    Jake1991's Avatar
    Jake1991 is offline Scarce
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    458

    Default Re: activate ability of Deathmark Prelate with no sorceries in my hand?

    "Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery"


    "Any time you could" basically means "Any time you're allowed".

    You don't need a sorcery in your hand at all.

  8. #8
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: activate ability of Deathmark Prelate with no sorceries in my hand?

    "Any time you could cast a sorcery" is just a timing restriction that means only during your main phase while the stack is empty.
    602.5d. Activated abilities that read "Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery" mean the player must follow the timing rules for casting a sorcery spell, though the ability isn't actually a sorcery. The player doesn't actually need to have a sorcery card that he or she could cast.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:19 AM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.