+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    magicstudent is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    84

    Default does trample damage still go through if blocking creature is regenerated? mtg

    how does regenerate interact with trample? for example a Tangle Mantis is blocked by a Rusted Slasher, which regenerates

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Daly City, CA
    Posts
    585

    Default Re: does trample damage still go through if blocking creature is regenerated? mtg

    614.8. Regeneration is a destruction-replacement effect. The word “instead” doesn’t appear on the card
    but is implicit in the definition of regeneration. “Regenerate [permanent]” means “The next time
    [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage marked on it and tap it. If it’s
    an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat.” Abilities that trigger from damage being
    dealt still trigger even if the permanent regenerates. See rule 701.11.
    Damage has already been assigned/dealt if the Slasher is regenerating due to combat damage.

 

 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:38 PM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.