+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Soddda is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    87

    Default can I activate ability of Mind Slash with no sorcery in my hand? magic

    can I use ability of Mind Slash if I dont have a sorcery currently in my hand?

  2. #2
    kevin's Avatar
    kevin is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: can I activate ability of Mind Slash with no sorcery in my hand? magic

    no it pretty clear it says only when you can cast a sorcery and if u dont have sorcery in your hand you cant cast a sorcery so u cant activate mind slash

  3. #3
    lucky is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    287

    Default Re: can I activate ability of Mind Slash with no sorcery in my hand? magic

    dont know because level up you also do when you can do a sorcery and i know you dont need a sorcery in your hand to level up (or at least I hope )

  4. #4
    kevin's Avatar
    kevin is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: can I activate ability of Mind Slash with no sorcery in my hand? magic

    yeah but note the difference level up says:

    Level up only as a sorcery so when you are leveling up its like you are casting a sorcery and you can only do it on your turn when stack is empty

    but mindslash says specifically: Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery

    it specifically talks about CASTING a sorcery and since you dont have one in your hand you cant activate mindslash ability

  5. #5
    lucky is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    287

    Default Re: can I activate ability of Mind Slash with no sorcery in my hand? magic

    but it also says "any time"

    so i think its referring to your turn like with level up and you dont have to have a sorcery in the hand actually but just use ability at correct time like during your turn even if you dont have a sorcery (and you actually cant use this ability in other players turn even if you do have a sorcery)

  6. #6
    Soddda is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    87

    Default Re: can I activate ability of Mind Slash with no sorcery in my hand? magic

    uhhm so guys what it then?

  7. #7
    kevin's Avatar
    kevin is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: can I activate ability of Mind Slash with no sorcery in my hand? magic

    dunno i think this way and he thinks that way and I checked gatherer and there are no rulings in that card (sometimes they have rulings in the card that help) we'll have to wait for arix or someone to rule on this

    in the meantime for sure you can use it in your turn when you have a sorcery in hand because you cant go wrong on that

  8. #8
    Ditto is offline Uncommon
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    256

    Default Re: can I activate ability of Mind Slash with no sorcery in my hand? magic

    I'd say Lucky is correct, I mean many cards in magic have this thing where you cast something as if it were something else like for example flash lets you cast something as an instant..but its not really an instant you just cast it at the time you could cast an instant. Or some creatures have reach and can block flying but that doesnt mean they have flying themselves

    So here you cast it at a time that you can cast a sorcery- but you dont actually cast a sorcery or need to have a sorcery in your hand... I think

  9. #9
    Arix's Avatar
    Arix is offline Merrymaker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,160

    Default Re: can I activate ability of Mind Slash with no sorcery in my hand? magic

    You can. "Only any time you could cast a sorcery" just means "only during one of your main phases and while the stack is empty" - you don't actually have to be able to cast a specific sorcery at that point in time.
    Fluttershy is best pony.

 

 




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:34 PM. Copyright (c) 2008 - 2011 RarityGuide, Inc. All rights reserved. All trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.